Salty Painting

 

redsky1.jpg

Mark 9:50

Salt is good, but if the salt has lost its saltiness, how will you make it salty again? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with one another.

Depression takes lives. And even if it doesn’t kill you, it still takes your life. Your liveliness, your life-spirit, heart, enthusiasm, your growth, your essence, your vitality…

Your saltiness.

I think I lost mine last year. I don’t know how it comes to be so easy to let it go. At hand, instead of the murky waters of ‘why’s and ‘how’s, I’m trying to take that challenge from Mark. How will I make me salty again? I don’t think I’ll be the same as I was before, and I’m happy with that. I feel like if I solve this like a problem, and not tangle it up in my sense of identity and purpose (which isn’t always so easy, I know), I might be more successful and come sooner. I’m trying to see it as a sort of reinvention. The fact that the subject is me is by the by.

Thinking about all this, the painting above is made with salt, to create the textured look of the pigment. My habits are going well, and I think I’m getting closer to more adventurous (read:scary) action to make myself feel better.

I hope you’re all well. Try art journalling, if you’re not. No one has to look at it – not even you once you’ve done it. Look at where it falls on this graph!

 

Take it easy, folks

redsky2

 

2 thoughts on “Salty Painting

Leave a Reply

